

Corporate Services

Alistair Neill - Chief Executive

TO: ALL MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Your Ref: Our Ref:

SAHC

0, 11 10

Please ask for:

Sally Cole

Direct Line / Extension:

(01432) 260249

E-mail: scole@herefordshire.gov.uk

11 July 2013

Dear Councillor

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the ordinary meeting of the Herefordshire Council to be held on **Friday 19 July 2013** at Council Chamber - Brockington at 2.00 pm at which the business set out in the attached agenda is proposed to be transacted.

Please note that car parking will be available at Brockington for elected Members.

Yours sincerely

J JONES

HEAD OF GOVERNANCE AND MONITORING OFFICER



AGENDA

Ordinary Council

Date: Friday 19 July 2013

Time: **2.00 pm**

Place: Council Chamber - Brockington

Notes: Please note the **time**, **date** and **venue** of the meeting.

For any further information please contact:

Sally Cole, Governance Services

Tel: 01432 260249

Email: scole@herefordshire.gov.uk

If you would like help to understand this document, or would like it in another format or language, please call Sally Cole, Governance Services on 01432 260249 or e-mail scole@herefordshire.gov.uk in advance of the meeting.

Agenda for the Ordinary Meeting of the Council

Membership

Chairman Vice-Chairman

Councillor LO Barnett Councillor ACR Chappell

Councillor PA Andrews Councillor CNH Attwood Councillor PL Bettington Councillor WLS Bowen Councillor AN Bridges Councillor MJK Cooper Councillor BA Durkin Councillor DW Greenow Councillor RB Hamilton Councillor EPJ Harvey Councillor JW Hope MBE Councillor RC Hunt Councillor TM James Councillor AW Johnson Councillor JLV Kenyon Councillor JG Lester Councillor RI Matthews Councillor PJ McCaull Councillor JW Millar Councillor NP Nenadich Councillor FM Norman Councillor GJ Powell Councillor R Preece Councillor SJ Robertson Councillor A Seldon

Councillor J Stone
Councillor DC Taylor

Councillor PJ Watts

Councillor MD Lloyd-Hayes
Councillor RL Mayo
Councillor SM Michael
Councillor PM Morgan
Councillor C Nicholls
Councillor RJ Phillips
Councillor AJW Powers
Councillor PD Price
Councillor P Rone
Councillor P Sinclair-Knipe
Councillor GR Swinford
Councillor GA Vaughan-Powell
Councillor DB Wilcox

Councillor AM Atkinson

Councillor CM Bartrum

Councillor EMK Chave

Councillor PGH Cutter

Councillor PJ Edwards

Councillor KS Guthrie

Councillor J Hardwick

Councillor JA Hyde Councillor JG Jarvis

Councillor JF Knipe

Councillor MAF Hubbard

Councillor AJ Hempton-Smith

Councillor Brig P Jones CBE

Councillor AJM Blackshaw Councillor H Bramer

	AGENDA				
		Pages			
1.	PRAYERS				
2 .	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE				
	To receive apologies for absence.				
3.	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST				
	To receive any declarations of interest by Members in respect of items on the Agenda.				
4.	MINUTES	13 - 24			
	To approve and sign the Minutes of the ordinary and the extraordinary meeting of Council held on 24 May 2013.				
5.	CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS				
	To receive the Chairman's announcements and petitions from members of the public.				
6.	QUESTIONS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC	25 - 28			
	To receive questions from members of the public.				
7.	FORMAL QUESTIONS FROM COUNCILLORS TO THE CABINET MEMBERS AND CHAIRMEN UNDER STANDING ORDERS				
	To receive any written questions from Councillors.				
8.	NOTICES OF MOTION UNDER STANDING ORDERS				
	There are two Notices of Motion for consideration by Council.				
	NOTICE OF MOTION ONE:				
	Proposed by Councillor AM Atkinson and seconded by Councillor P Rone				
	At a time when we are discussing making vast numbers of Council staff redundant and cuts to the extent of which have never been seen before it is moved:				

That:

- Elected Members take a voluntary 10% reduction in their attendance allowance.
- In addition Councillors also consider not claiming all available expenses.

This saving in Members' allowances would give a potential saving of over £40,000 which is equivalent to two full time posts.

NOTICE OF MOTION TWO:

Proposed by Councillor RB Hamilton

At its meeting in March 2013 Council resolved that votes on non-procedural motions be taken by means of a named recorded vote and the Council's Constitution has been amended accordingly. It is now moved that:

- The Council's Constitution be further amended to require that non procedural votes taken at all meetings of Council's Committees be by means of recorded named vote with a view of increasing transparency in decision making.
- That once recorded, and in order for constituents and others to see how Councillors (their Ward Member) votes, the details of all said votes to be included on each Member's webpage on the Council's website in accordance with the established process.

9. LEADER'S REPORT

29 - 36

To receive the Leader's report, which provides an overview of the Executive's activity since the last Council meeting.

10. APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT PERSONS TO THE COUNCIL'S STANDARDS PANEL

37 - 40

On the recommendation of the Audit and Governance Committee, to approve the appointment of two independent persons to the Council's standards panel.

11. APPOINTMENT OF ELECTORAL REGISTRATION OFFICER AND RETURNING OFFICER

41 - 44

To designate the post of Head of Governance as Electoral Registration Officer and Returning Officer, this is undertaken independently of the Council.

12. ELECTORAL REVIEW OF HEREFORDSHIRE - FINAL RECOMMENDATIONS

45 - 48

To note the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's final recommendations for Council size and warding arrangements in Herefordshire.

13. HEREFORD & WORCESTER FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

49 - 54

To receive the report of the Annual Meeting of the Hereford & Worcester Fire and Rescue Authority.